Thanks to Lok for this awesome pic of gluten-free stuffed peppers with rice.
If you have problems with your digestion, with diarrhea or constipation or both these conditions, then you could be sensitive to the gluten found in wheat, rye flour and barley.
Note: Do see a health practitioner if you have these problems, in case there is some other disease present.
You might have been diagnosed with coeliac disease: Both the coeliac condition and allergy or sensitivity to gluten respond well to wheat products, barley and rye all being eliminated from the diet. If your problem is coeliac disease, then you will be best to avoid dairy products and sugar as well, at least until yur condition improves. But if your problem is specifically gluten sensitivity, then you will find your condition improves radically and dramatically, simply by leaving out wheat, rye, barley, and all products which may contain gluten.
You may suspect that the gluten in wheat and other food items might be the problem if you have diarrhea, or constipation, irritable bowel syndrome, colitis, a distended stomach, stomach cramps or discomfort after eating a meal, sinus trouble, skin problems, depression, candida and symptoms of malnutrition due to your food not being processed properly, with accompanying listlessness and a lack of motivation to tackle important tasks.
Of course there are other conditions which can cause the above symptoms, so if you have any of these symptoms, then it is best to see a health professional to get a proper medical diagnosis. Meanwhile, you might try a gluten free diet using suggestions from our complete list of gluten free foods to see whether your condition improves.
Doing without gluten in your cooking and your daily diet is actually an easy thing. Take heart, because you can survive very well without products like wheat flour, rye and barley. You can also improve your nutrition enormously by using other foods instead of the daily bread and wheat-laden foods to which we are accustomed.
We find the ubiquitous wheat with its problematic gluten in many commercially produced foods such as sausages, sausage meat, baked beans, textured vegetable protein, sauces, soups, cornflakes, and a host of other items. Make sure you avoid all such products and use only the foods from our complete list of gluten free foods, unless, of course, the product indicates specifically that it is gluten free.
It is far better to make all your meals from scratch, at home, with the raw ingredients you can be sure are gluten free, rather than buying any commercially made preparations or meals. If you do have a sensitivity to gluten, as yet undiagnosed, then you will find your health improving dramatically in a matter of weeks by using the recommended substitutes for wheat which we have listed below.
Generally speaking, rice is the king of grains, best used to replace wheat and rye and barley. Rice is totally gluten free which is surprising since it has what we call a “glutinous” make-up once it is cooked in plenty of water. Use rice every day – at every meal if you wish.
Rice can replace those breakfast cereals which contain wheat. It can accompany a meal of protein such as fish, meat or chicken and leafy green vegetables, or it can accompany a vegetarian salad with nuts, seeds, almonds and avocado.
Made into flour, rice can be used, in combination with other gluten free grains, in baking, to make the most delicious, and nutritious, of cookies and deserts. These treats should be used only occasionally for most people.
For people with multiple sensitivities, candida or hyperglycaemia, sweet foods of any kind, and dairy foods, are best left out until the condition improves. Butter is usually OK, though, as is ghee, a product made from butter. You can experiment with butter and ghee to see if they do suit you.
Brown rice, of course, is the most nutritious and the best type for the digestion, as the vitamins and fibre in the outer part of the rice are still intact. But white rice ground into flour is a good substitute for white wheat flour, to use in baking biscuits and cakes and bread.
BAKING GLUTEN FREE: Our complete list of gluten free foods for people with wheat sensitivity will begin with the flours and grains which can substitute wheat and rye in your cooking. A mixture of chick pea four, soy, rice and corn flours is generally a good mix to use in baking cookies and cakes, or to use for thickening stews and gravies.
Tapioca and arrowroot flours are also great gluten free flours to help your baking rise. These flours do not contain any gluten and are therefore safe for people with gluten intolerance. Use rice flour for about half the measure of flour needed, and make up the rest of the quantity stated in the recipe with some soy and corn flours with a bit of tapioca or arrowroot flours added for lightness in baking.
Wheat-Free Baking Substitutes: Gluten Free Flours and Grains
Buckwheat – Groats and Flour Note: Don’t use buckwheat for now. Will have to research buckwheat a bit more. I have an idea they may contain a type of gluten similar to that found in oats. This could be OK for most people, but it is best avoided for now.
Chickpeas and Chickpea Flour
Cornmeal – Groats or finely milled yellow cornmeal.
Note about Cornflakes: be cautious when using cornflakes, as some brands have malt added to them. Malt contains gluten. You really can’t go wrong if you stick to the real yellow groats, or fine yellow cornmeal.
Millet – Ground millet is an especially nourishing breakfast cereal. Made into a porridge, it is good for delicate people and the very young, as well as for those who have an intolerance to gluten.
Oatmeal: Oats are not totally gluten free. They contain a different type of gluten to wheat and rye, and this is a very small amount compared to that found in wheat or rye. Many people who are sensitive to gluten find that they can tolerate small amounts of oats daily: half a cup in a porridge, or in cookies, is generally an acceptable amount. However, in extreme cases of sensitivity to gluten, oats might best be left out, and millet porridge, or rice, used instead.
Pea Flour (from dried green peas, finely ground)
Rice and Rice Flour
Soy Beans and Soy Flour
Tapioca and Tapioca Flour
Dairy Milk is Gluten Free. If you also wish to avoid dairy products, then you could choose from the following milks, which are also Gluten Free
Cashew Nut Milk
Sesame seed milk
Sunflower Seed Milk
Note: Check the product packaging on Soy Milk. Some brands may contain wheat products. Make sure you buy a brand whose labelling you can trust.
Gluten Free Fruits and Vegetables
All root vegetables, and all leafy green vegetables are gluten free with the exception of the Jerusalem Artichoke, which has a small amount of a gluten type substance in its tuber.
Fruits are also gluten free. These foods are also better nutritionally for you than eating wheat flour bread, pastries and other wheat-based products, even if you are not gluten sensitive. This is because they provide good quality roughage to the bowel. Fiber is just the thing to make you healthy.
Vegetables and fruits also contain large amounts of vitamins and minerals which are not so abundant in cooked wheat flour. Vitamin C is high in all fruit and vegetables, especially when eaten raw as in a salad, or as a desert or a snack. Of course, if you have hyperglycaemia as well as an intolerance to wheat and rye, then you will need to be careful with sweet fruits until your health has recovered somewhat.
Artichoke (Globe Artichoke, not the Jerusalem artichoke)
Aubergine or eggplant
Broad beans – dried or freshly picked
Chick Pea Sprouts
Chinese Cabbage – Bok Choy, Chi Hi Li
Melons – Watermelon and Rock melon
Mung bean sprouts (cooked mung beans are also gluten free)
Onions – all types of onions are gluten free
Oranges (although many people cannot digest oranges so well)
Peanuts (actually a legume)
Peppers – red and green. Also chili peppers
Potato (and Potato flour for baking)
Sugar Cane and sugar cane products such as molasses, treacle, golden syrup, and brown and white sugar. Brown sugar and molasses are best, of course, as these contain chromium and other minerals and vitamins which are absent in white sugar. Unadulterated Honey is also gluten free. Maple Syrup is also gluten free.
Sweet Potato (kumara)
FRUIT JUICES. All fruit juices are gluten free. However, these should be taken in moderation, especially if your bowels are not yet operating normally. Sometimes citrus fruit juices are added to fruit-juice mixes- citrus fruits can be problematic for some people. In extreme cases, it might be best to avoid fruit juices until health is restored. Some people find a grape juice fast, or an apple juice fast to be helpful in the beginning of a treatment: best to get some professional advice on this before you attempt a juice fast, though.
Gluten Free Protein Foods:
You can eat any of the following gluten-free foods: Almonds, Cashews, Walnuts, Avocado, Fish, Meat, Tempeh, Tofu, Eggs, Nuts, Pumpkin Seeds, Sunflower Seeds, Sesame Seeds.
All Dairy Products- butter, cream, cheese, milk, are gluten free. However, some people might be best to leave dairy foods alone until they have recovered. Butter is generally tolerated by most people, even if they have sensitivites to milk and cheese. Butter is an ideal cooking fat, as it does not make the toxins which most oils do when heated.
All natural protein foods are gluten free. This means you can eat any fish or shell fish, all meats, beef, chicken or mutton, and eggs. Of course, you will try to choose free range products. Tofu, a soy bean curd, is a very good protein-rich food, ideal for people on strict vegetarian diets.
Fish – cod, eel, herrings, lemon fish, mackerel, mullet, mussels, oysters, sardines, salmon, snapper, terakihi, tuna
Protein-Rich Milks – All the following are gluten free:
Nut milk – made from cashews, or hazelnuts or brazil nuts or walnuts
Nuts, Pulses and Seeds-
All nuts, pulses and seeds listed here are gluten free. You can choose from:
Alfalfa – cooked, sprouted, or made into a tea
Black eyed beans or peas
Broad beans – dried or fresh from the vine
Chick peas – cooked, or sprouted, or used as a flour
Mung beans (cooked or sprouted)
Peas and pea flour
Red Kidney beans
Vegetable Oils are Gluten Free
All the following oils are gluten free, and most are rich sources of Vitamin E and other goodies.
Grape seed oil
Rice bran oil
Sunflower seed oil
See merrilyn’s new post entitled Gluten Free Recipes. You might like to visit the new site, Gluten Free Cookies.info
HAVE FUN experimenting with this complete list of gluten free foods, as yet to be completed, but we’re almost there.
See Merrilyn’s song, ‘Marianne, Let Us Be’ on Youtube: